Travelin’ Tuesdays – Safari!

My husband and I are going on a trip to Kenya and Uganda. I never thought my life would be quite this blessed. kidsNot only did I get to marry the love of my life, but we get to travel side by side. Cheesy, but… awesome. Not only will we work with children at a home in Uganda, but we have the opportunity to go on not one safari, but two.

Here’s my dilemma, (and I can’t believe this is a problem I’m offered to solve): How do we choose which safari to take? masai-maraI hear in one ear to leave it all spontaneous. “Wait until you’re there and book through a hostel. You’ll save a ton of money that way.” Although a common theme among travelers, but my palms get sweaty just considering that idea. There’s no way we two, with our tendency to organize our lives, will step off an airplane onto a foreign continent without even a wisp of a plan.

So we’ll scratch the “no-plan” plan. This leaves us with the main tool at our disposal: internet searching. However, internet searches only go so far when you’re looking into a hot climate culture with limited access to technology. If a company has a website, I consider it legit. However, this may only mean they know how to reach a U.S. audience. I realize there are potentially many legit companies without websites, and therefore I lack access to them.

fotor_1290434924_sasakwaNow I would love input from others who have already been to Africa. We’re on a limited budget. I’m absolutely WoWed by the luxury safaris, but unfortunately, those are not an option. We’re looking at down-and-dirty tent camping. Still, we want to be safe. We want to keep our food down. And we want to have an awesome experience.

lionsWe’ve been looking at Maasai Mara National Reserve for “The Big Five.” giraffesApparently this is an extremely touristy thing to do… but why wouldn’t it be? They have animals, people! The BIG animals! Lions, giraffes, zebras, hippos… you name it, they’ve got it.

kibaleAnd if they don’t have it, then the Kibale National Forest does. We want to go on a chimpanzee trek. I wonder if hiking with chimps will rival swimming with stingrays.

Needless to say, I’m thrilled.images

About wordlytraveler

I am a simply a girl with a head full of ideas. I love reading blogs. I love traveling. Cooking. The beach. Stuff Kids say. Speech Therapy. Running. Yoga. God. DIY Projects. Painting. Books, especially children's books. You will find all of this and more on my blog. I hope to write every week, at least September-May. I welcome your feedback. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Adventurous, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

