fabulous pounds

I am a solid 5 lbs heavier than I was at our wedding three months ago (more on that later).

I call these fabulous pounds. Yes, I bemoan them every day and will them to wash away in my sleep. I complain to my husband, “why won’t these last 5 pounds go away?” around the bite of ice cream I just shoveled into my mouth. I get on the treadmill and run for approximately 3 miles before huffing to a halt. Enough for today. Looks like I’ll just have to finish that workout tomorrow, after my dinner of cheese pizza, red wine and chocolate fudge brownies.

Where did these fabulous pounds come from in the first place? And what makes them fabulous? Well, I’d like to thank our all-inclusive honeymoon in Cabo for the first 10 pounds (again, more on that later). (top photo: Cabo San Lucas. bottom photo: me, before our all-inclusive honeymoon. ha.)

We basked in the sun, sipped margaritas and pina coladas all the live-long day, while noshing on coconut shrimp, grilled cheese, and perhaps an entire tree-worth of avocados smashed into guacamole. By grilled cheese, Mexico does not mess around. Why be incumbered by something as frivolous as bread? Just slice that cheesy goodness up, slap it in the fry pan, and serve it. Grilled cheese. with a side of melted cheese. Boo-ya.

If my dear new husband asked if I would like seconds, of course what would the answer be? We were in Cabo, on our honeymoon, at an all-inclusive resort. That, to me, is code for “eat everything in sight because you may never see food again!” I did all-inclusive proud.

Thankfully, half of that vacation vanished from my thighs. The other half clung steadfastly on. How? Well, the fabulous part (did I mention that we were still getting to that?) we attended, not one wedding this summer (besides our own), but five. That’s right, five weddings. If you are anything like me, the idea of a fabulous celebration includes at least one rich three-course meal and a four-layered cake. How could we not celebrate fabulously? These were our dear friends and I wanted them to feel special. I ate out of care and thoughtfulness.

Lastly, these fabulous pounds came from the new adventure of being a newlywed. Gone are the days where I came home from the gym, polished off a lean cuisine and a soda water and called it dinner. Now I have a husband. And a husband does not live on 200 calories worth of vegetables alone. No, a husband craves meat, and quantity, and he wants his beautiful wife to share in the joy. When his beautiful wife is me, she hollers, “heck yeah!!!” and dives headfirst into her second serving of chicken enchilada casserole. Marriage is bliss.

Until it comes time to face those fabulous pounds. I know that my husband couldn’t care less and thinks I’m gorgeous five pounds lighter or heavier (and because I know you’re reading this Sweetie, I say thank you). It’s what’s on the inside that counts. Really, the perspective should be in place. It helps me to remember that these pounds really do represent months of joy and celebration and growth and experience that I wouldn’t trade for anything. They are not just cellulite clinging to my derriere. Although I’m going to work to get them gone, maybe I can look at them now and smile, filled with the happiest of memories. And plenty of cake.

About wordlytraveler

I am a simply a girl with a head full of ideas. I love reading blogs. I love traveling. Cooking. The beach. Stuff Kids say. Speech Therapy. Running. Yoga. God. DIY Projects. Painting. Books, especially children's books. You will find all of this and more on my blog. I hope to write every week, at least September-May. I welcome your feedback. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Adventurous, food, humor, Musings, relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

