Grill Holidays

I am thoroughly convinced that American culture does not revolve around the melting pot, or the salad bowl, or any of the euphemisms they teach in high school. Rather, America revolves around… the grill.

Thanksgiving is wonderful. Christmas and Easter are spiritual and special. But when you want fun, you bring out the grill. Labor Day, Memorial Day, 4th of July, Saturday… it’s time to grill.

And for our grill holidays, we have an extensive assortment of accessories. Potato salad, pasta salad, cole slaw, fruit bowls, jello… you name it. Everyone is outside. Everyone laughs. Someone gets stuck with smoke in his eyes the entire afternoon, but that’s ok. Everyone loves these days, from great-grandmas to the youngest nieces and nephews. Families come together, friends make it a party. No pressure to bring presents, or wondering if it’s going to be raining, or cold, or if the oven has enough room… nope. A pressure-free holiday. If you brought it, you can grill it.

I mentioned the “grill holidays” once in a group of military friends, and I think I may have offended a few people. I meant no disrespect. I realize that many of these grill holidays pay tribute to those who have paid the ultimate sacrifice for the freedom of our country, and I honor and respect that. I’m just saying that we have discovered the absolute best way to celebrate that freedom. And the grill is great.

In honor of this, I have decided to share my all-time favorite marinade recipe. I don’t actually measure anything, I think about ratios and keep tasting it until it makes me think, “YES. THIS is what meat should taste like.” It is great for anything grilled, so give it a try:

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/3 cup lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons garlic powder
  • 3 tablespoons dried basil
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons dried parsley flakes
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon hot pepper sauce (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon dried minced garlic (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon dijon mustard

Directions

  1. Place the soy sauce, olive oil, lemon juice, Worcestershire sauce, garlic powder, basil, parsley, and pepper in a ziploc bag. Add hot pepper sauce and garlic, if desired. Mix thoroughly
  2. Pour marinade over desired type of meat. Cover, and refrigerate for as little as 20 min to overnight. Cook meat as desired.
About wordlytraveler

I am a simply a girl with a head full of ideas. I love reading blogs. I love traveling. Cooking. The beach. Stuff Kids say. Speech Therapy. Running. Yoga. God. DIY Projects. Painting. Books, especially children's books. You will find all of this and more on my blog. I hope to write every week, at least September-May. I welcome your feedback. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in cooking, food, Pantry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grill Holidays

  1. LInda Hollingworth says:

    Yum, sounds delish 😀

  2. Tami says:

    This is true for us! We love grilling and handing out with friends while they have a cook out. There’s just something about it…maybe the cooler that comes along with it 🙂

Leave a Reply

