It’s a love story…

A little bit about my personal life: my boyfriend proposed this weekend! I apologize for letting you in on the secret. But let me see if I can write it accurately.

You may have learned how much I love to travel (and yes, we are considering a honeymoon in Thailand). Well, we like to visit friends in San Francisco. We planned a trip over Veteran’s Day weekend, since it gives us extra time that we don’t have to take off work.

We arrived in the pouring rain. He seemed more upset by this than I was, but who knew why. We spent the day shopping, walking around, catching up and drinking coffee. That evening we ate at the 3rd best Chinese food restaurant called San Tung. None of the reviews mentioned how you have to write your own name on a list, and then the the host calls names out of order, angering the mob. But besides that, the place was delicious. You order the “dry” chicken wings, even though they arrive in a glazed honey sauce. The waiter looked at us funny when we said we wanted the “wet” ones. “Nobody order wet,” he told us solemnly.

My sweetie had asked me in advance if I wanted to have a picnic in Golden Gate Park. Yes! I love picnics. My friend Aubrey, whom we visited, had emailed me about a month prior. She is a photographer and mentioned that she wanted to update her portfolio. “Would you and Justin mind wearing something for pictures?” No problem. Our plan, as I knew it, was to have our picnic, then Aubrey would meet us in the park for a photo session. Fortunately our Friday rain had left us. “Look Sweetie!” Justin exclaimed when he woke up, “It’s nice and sunny! I prayed today would be like this.” A little voice in the back of my head wondered, “Why only today? Why not yesterday and the rest of the weekend as well?” But I quelled it.

Justin was determined to find the Shakespeare Garden. Every person we asked about it either a) didn’t know where it was, or b) responded with, “yeah, it isn’t much.” So it took us a while to find this secluded garden. It wasn’t much to them, but it was something special to us.

The walkway was lined with trees. My heart began fluttering, and I shushed it. “No no, he is not going to ask now. He’s too calm.” We walked under the shade of the trees toward the sundial at the end of the path. When we got to the edge where the bricks met the grass, he stopped and took my hands.

“I’ve loved you from the very beginning,” he said, as he looked into my eyes. I started quivering. I could at last feel the excitement rush! The love of my life was asking me to marry him. I don’t know what made it happen, but I started crying and laughing at the same time. By the time he got down on a knee and asked me to marry him, I was practically blubbering.

Yes! Yes! I cried. I hoped you would ask. I love you with all my heart.

After that, my friend revealed herself from behind the bushes, and we had a good laugh. The pictures of me laughing are comical because I definitely look like I’m crying all over the place. I’ll just say, it would have been better if I’d worn the waterproof mascara that day, but oh well. Since I had brought the outfit for the “photo shoot” (which was secretly for our engagement, not her portfolio), I quickly switched into something a bit more flattering. We took photos all around Golden Gate Park, which was fun. Then she dropped us off to enjoy our picnic in front of the Golden Gate Bridge.

What an iconic place to revel in your new engagement. I told anyone within earshot that we had just gotten engaged, and everyone responded with beaming smiles and a chorus of “congratulations!” The excitement and positivity propagates itself. We walked along the golden bridge, talking of the future, our children, our happiness, our travels. If happiness was a soda, I was drinking through a curly straw. The sun lighting our faces barely rivaled the joy beaming from the inside.

I love you with all my heart. Even the part I left in San Francisco.

About wordlytraveler

I am a simply a girl with a head full of ideas. I love reading blogs. I love traveling. Cooking. The beach. Stuff Kids say. Speech Therapy. Running. Yoga. God. DIY Projects. Painting. Books, especially children's books. You will find all of this and more on my blog. I hope to write every week, at least September-May. I welcome your feedback. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Adventurous, relationships, travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s a love story…

  1. LInda Hollingworth says:

    This is so beautiful, I almost cried… again. Love you so much, honey! 😀

Leave a Reply

