Without a script

One of my preschoolers today excitedly showed me a book about “Barney and the Fire Station.”

“I like Barney!” She exclaimed breathlessly. Her peers turned to look at her, but mostly kept busy reading their own books.

“Yeah?” I replied. “You like Barney. He is pretty cool.”

Another little boy whipped his head around to look at her book. Then he looked at me.

“Yeah, he’s cool. He’s all purple and stuff.”

You can’t script kids. I wish statements of fact were always qualifiers for being cool. “Yeah, nighttime is cool. It’s all dark and stuff.” “Yeah, the beach is cool. It’s all sandy and stuff.” Life would be much simpler without the constant competition. You could just be. And you would be cool.

About wordlytraveler

I am a simply a girl with a head full of ideas. I love reading blogs. I love traveling. Cooking. The beach. Stuff Kids say. Speech Therapy. Running. Yoga. God. DIY Projects. Painting. Books, especially children's books. You will find all of this and more on my blog. I hope to write every week, at least September-May. I welcome your feedback. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in humor, KidSpeak, Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

