Hauntings in your own backyard

I am a self-proclaimed scaredy-cat. After I turn off the hallway light, I have to hurry into my bedroom and shut the door. I have all sorts of idiosyncrasies like that. It’s safer that way. I don’t like shadows. Or strangers, creatures without eyes, or things that look dead. Or any movies that involve the words “nightmare” “night” “house” “children” “murder” … well, you understand. Not my thing.

BUT: even a scaredy like me needs a good shaking up every once in a while. Like on Halloween, for example, when all the not-jumpy people brag about how they aren’t afraid of anything. I’m sure you have friends like that. The ones who see a dark alley, tug at your hand and say, “C’mon! It’ll be fun!” Maybe you are one of those people.

Yes, on Halloween they typically talk me into some sort of scary ritual.

So I finally found one genre of scary that I tolerate. Jumpy-scary. I can go home and fall asleep peacefully, assured that monsters and mummies aren’t real (especially these guys in costumes. You can’t fool me!), and they are not hiding outside my window or in my bathroom (I have to glance over my shoulder at the bathroom as I type this). So I’m ok. And guess what I found out!

The Haunted Hotel, which is not too far from my house, was featured on Travel Channel as one of the best haunted houses in the country. They have a deal for parking, $5, which isn’t bad, and many local radio stations give away tickets for free. Or tickets are only $15 weekdays, $17 on weekends (and you can probably find a discount at your local grocery store.) That’s not half bad, considering Knott’s Scary Farm, which I also enjoy, is $50 on weekends. Woah. Scary.

Either way, prepare yourself for… long lines. There’s no avoiding it. Scary. But, if you go with your friends, you just might be alright.

About wordlytraveler

I am a simply a girl with a head full of ideas. I love reading blogs. I love traveling. Cooking. The beach. Stuff Kids say. Speech Therapy. Running. Yoga. God. DIY Projects. Painting. Books, especially children's books. You will find all of this and more on my blog. I hope to write every week, at least September-May. I welcome your feedback. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Adventurous, humor, local, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

