North Cape – gateway to the Arctic

Nordkapp, Norway…

I assume you dream of vacationing there. Why ever would you not? While others are sipping a mai tai on a sun-kissed beach, you are trekking through ice. Someone told you how “beautiful” it is, and then you jumped in both feet first. But you’re not swimming in a cool, clear, blue ocean. You’re not floating on a salty, Mediterranean sea. Nope, YOU, my friend… are polar bearing. But isn’t that the joy of adventure?

My dear friend from Spain just sent me a postcard from Nordkapp, Norway. I think the pictures on this website pretty much explain everything. There’s open flame (to cook with, I assume), people to drink potent water from puddles (impossible). Half the website I’m sure would be helpful if I spoke, say, Norwegian. They definitely are seeking a broad audience base, aren’t they.

Yet somehow things like this draw me. A recommendation from a friend. A photo depicting a small, straggled group in down jackets watching a sunrise at the edge of the earth.

Who wants to join me?

About wordlytraveler

I am a simply a girl with a head full of ideas. I love reading blogs. I love traveling. Cooking. The beach. Stuff Kids say. Speech Therapy. Running. Yoga. God. DIY Projects. Painting. Books, especially children's books. You will find all of this and more on my blog. I hope to write every week, at least September-May. I welcome your feedback. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Adventurous, humor, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to North Cape – gateway to the Arctic

  1. Mawiyah says:

    It looks breathtaking. I.e., it looks like the frigid cold will take your breath away. So when are we going?

  2. ashley says:

    is it sad that this appeals to me more than the yoga retreats?

Leave a Reply

