How the Ecuadorians do it – Adele style

My boyfriend and I are friends with a proud Ecuadorian. He has even been to Ecuador. This is an impressive demonstration from an American claiming a foreign heritage. Anyway, one of his most endearing traits–besides his passionate love of food, Spanish, and, well, Ecuador–is his ability to sound passionate about any subject. He speaks on everything like it is his personal favorite, and something in his voice makes you believe him… shoes, movies, basketball, cars, my last hair appointment, that-guy-over-there’s-inflamed-toe… anything, really. He loves it, and he loves talking with you about it. Ecuador’s most recent passion push was Adele.

I know we all have to admit a modest girl-crush on the vocals of this big-voiced woman. And we are all growing exasperated with the radio hits, but hey, that’s the radio’s fault, not hers. I’m listening to her music now, thanks to a CD Ecuador burned for me. He urged me to listen for “perfection” and “dude, super awesome songs. Especially number 13” (my car has a temperamental CD player, so the chances of us making it to track 13 were slim. Somehow, we did it.)

Maybe it was his hype, because I’m really not sure if I heard all he did. If I heard “perfection”. Honestly, some songs were slow for me. But I listened carefully to her voice. I must say, the way she wails in “set fire to the rain,” purrs on her cover of “lovesong”, it’s like hearing a conversation. The surprising ways she changes her voice draw me. Inspire me. It’s like she empathizes with my life, the high times and low. Makes me reminisce over times I lost love. Times I cooked my dinner quickly and ate in front of the TV. Then other times where I took the sidewalk like I had my own themesong. She does that. Her music is powerful because it reflects something in me. Like a conversation with a good friend.

I don’t know, something about Ecuador’s earnestness amuses me. But… should we all have that quality? Is that why travel is refreshing, to see anew without the blemishes born of experience? To experience the opportunity to react with undisguised honesty? Is this what music does for us, that we may live vicariously? Is the bittersweet mix of honesty and passion what Adele reflects in her melancholy tunes? And is that why her music resonates within us?

About wordlytraveler

I am a simply a girl with a head full of ideas. I love reading blogs. I love traveling. Cooking. The beach. Stuff Kids say. Speech Therapy. Running. Yoga. God. DIY Projects. Painting. Books, especially children's books. You will find all of this and more on my blog. I hope to write every week, at least September-May. I welcome your feedback. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Adventurous, local, Musings, relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How the Ecuadorians do it – Adele style

  1. Katrina says:

    I love Adele! Her voice is so incredibly soulful, almost ethereal, and at the same time so relatable.

Leave a Reply

